TPP Partner Institutions

TPP international partners are: Michigan State University; the Institute of Resource Assessment (IRA), University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM); the Dar es Salaam University College of Education (DUCE); the Aga Khan Foundation (AKF); and the Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA). TPP international partners play a critical role in building in-country relationships and contribute a depth of knowledge and expertise on important research and development issues. Together TPP partners form a vital alliance with the ability to address a broad range of challenges to achieve sustainable livelihoods at the community level. These organizations may be joined by additional organizations as community needs warrant.

Michigan State University. Building on its fifty year history of international engagement, Michigan State University has one of the oldest and most established programs for international development and study abroad.

Under the leadership of its 20th president, Lou Anna K. Simon, MSU has made the global awareness and engagement of our students, faculty, staff, and other constituencies an institutional priority. Turning our cutting-edge research into practical interventions for the betterment of society continues to be a mission of MSU as we shape the land-grant mission in a global context.

Institute of Resource Assessment (IRA), University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM). UDSM is the oldest and largest university in Tanzania. Established in 1966, UDSM brings to the program a highly skilled collection of faculty in nine colleges and five institutes. Program activities will emphasize those faculty representing the biological, agricultural, health and environmental sciences.

The primary faculty represented initially in this program will be from the Institute of Resource Assessment (IRA). IRA is a research institute at the University of Dar Es Salaam which focused on natural resources and environment, water resources, population and human settlement and agriculture systems. Research outputs consist of monographs, research papers, research reports and service papers.

Dar es Salaam University College of Education (DUCE). DUCE was created in 2005, specifically to address the critical shortage of highly trained secondary teachers in Tanzania. A longer history of teacher training exists in the university, including a teachers college dating back to the 1970s and the faculty of education, which existed for some time before the creation of the college. Participation of this college will provide a venue for linking teacher training and curriculum development efforts to the Partnership's "schools in the community" approach.

Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN). Considered by many as one of the world's best development agencies, the AKDN network of organizations combines a nonsectarian approach with the Ismaili commitment to volunteerism, philanthropy and community service. The Aga Khan Foundation is an integral part of this network and is launching an integrative development initiative in Southern Tanzania, with the primary focus on promoting sustainable livelihoods for impoverished rural communities.

Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA) began as an agricultural college in 1964 and evolved into a constituent faculty of the University of Dar-es-Salaam. SUA was elevated to university status in 1984. Vision of the university is "is to become a centre of excellence and a valued member of the global academic community in agriculture and other related fields, with emphasis on impacting practical skills, entrepreneurship, research and integration of basic and applied knowledge in an environmentally friendly manner." The vision is guided through the mission, to promote development through training, research, extension, provision of services to the public and private sector in an environmentally friendly manner. The university's research motto is to encourage multi-disciplinary research for sustainable development and the alleviation of poverty. The university's four faculties, two colleges, two institutes and two centers are dedicated to advancing knowledge in agriculture, forestry, sustainable rural development, the environment, and veterinary medicine.