Tanzania Partners, Faculty and Staff

Amos Majule

Amos Majule is an Associate Professor and the Director of the Institute of Resource Assessment (IRA) University of Dar es Salaam – Tanzania. He holds a PhD in Agricultural Soil Science from the University of Reading, UK. His main research areas are Agriculture Soils and Water management for sustainable agriculture. He also conducts research on climate change impacts and adaptations particularly on Agriculture. He has a considerable list of publications in his areas of interest.

Claude Mung'ong'o

Claude Mung'ong'o is the TPP in-country program coordinator and a Senior Research Fellow and Environmental Sociologist at the Institute of Resource Assessment, University of Dar es Salaam. He has more than 20 years of research experience in Environmental Sociology, Rural Livelihood Analysis, Food Security and general Rural Development. Since 1997 he has participated in numerous socio-economic studies as a member of various Environmental Impact Assessment and other natural resources use consultancies. He has also coordinated several PRA exercises for the UK-funded Lake Tanganyika Biodiversity Project, and worked with other researchers looking into the Changing Livelihoods of Maasai Pastoralists in Morogoro and Kilosa Districts of Central Tanzania. He has also participated in various human-wildlife interface studies in Western Serengeti from which he has produced several publications. Dr. Mung'ong'o is a Ph.D. holder in Sociology and Human Geography. He got his university education from Makerere University in Uganda (1972-1974), the University of Dar es Salaam in Tanzania (1987-1990) and Stockholm University in Sweden (1991-1995).

Mary Malekela

Mary Malekela is the TPP In-Country Program Officer. Mary began working with TPP in 2010. Prior to joining TPP, she worked as the Country Director for the Jifunze Project in Kibaya village, Kiteto District, Manyara Region. As Country Director, Mary managed the Community Education Resource Center (CERC) in Kiteto District and build capacity among its partners. Mary graduated from Sokoine University of Agriculture with a Masters of Arts in Rural Development in 2010.

Rupert Corbishley

Rupert Corbishley is the Tanzanian Country Programme Officer for Education for the Aga Khan Foundation (AKF). Rupert Corbishley has over 10 years experience of working with children and young people specialising in education, civic participation, and issues related to violence. After teaching for two years he worked on an out-of-school youth education programme in Uganda before returning to the UK to manage a national school based HIV awareness campaign. On completing a Masters in Violence, Conflict, and Development Rupert returned to East Africa in 2011 and before starting with AKF in 2012, conducted research into youth health, employment, and political participation in Tanzania, an evaluation and redesign of a youth-led peace building programme in Northern Uganda, and designing a new project to increase youth participation across Ugandan civil society.

SI Kimera

S.I. Kimera is Associate Professor and Lecturer at Sokoine University of Agriculture in Tanzania. Kimera is in the Department of Veterinary Medicine and Public Health. He has focused much of his work on infectious diseases and livestock diseases that are zoonotic, infecting both humans and animals.

Emiliana John Mwita

Emiliana John Mwita is the TPP Coordinator for the Dar es Salaam University College of Education (DUCE). Emiliana is the Associate Dean Academic and Lecturer in the Geography Department in the DUCE Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences. Emiliana received her Ph.D. from the Geography Department University, Bonn-Germany in 2010. Her research interests are in the area of natural resource assessment and management with a special interest in wetlands and land use land covers analysis. She has conducted research in the Central and Rift valley provinces of Kenya and various regions in Tanzania. Emiliana teaches geography courses, is an academic and social advisor to under/ postgraduate students.

Follow ISP

  • YouTube

Deans Office: 517-355-2350